Local Governments In Nasarawa State Are Insolvent Says Gov. Al-Makura By Rabiu Omaku,Lafia

0 1
Subscribe to our newsletter
The Governor of Nasarawa state, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura has acknowledged that only few Local Governments in the state are financially balance, Al-Makura gave the disclosure while inaugurating ten (10) elected Local Governments chairman and a newly sworn-in Special Adviser to Governor Al-Makura at the shendam road Government House.

Subscribe to our newsletter
The Governor identified some of the woo of the third tier of Government has a major constraint that bedeviled the progress of the Local Government system,|”some Local Government only exist in names but lacks financial positions that will drive good projects”. He described the third tier of Government has an engendered species to the existence of the baby state.
“The efficacies of Local Government will not be realized due to the distressed situation they are facing, not to talk of capital projects but the settlement of staff salary and emolument is herculean task faced by our Local Government system,” said the Governor.
“Our Local Governments are no longer viable to pay staff salary and emolument, He however aver that thirteen (13) Local Governments and Development Area out of the existing thirteen Local Government and Eighteen (18) Development Areas are not capable to settled workers’ salaries and emolument due to insolvency”.
Al-Makura guarantees that the elected council chairmen will be accorded a free hand that will enable them to run the affairs of their Local Government areas without any preponderance.
“You are spending only one year in office, and for this reason we had made a preparation before your election that all resource of Local Government will go to them.
Governor Al-Makura cautioned the elected chairmen to remain focused and steadfast in the discharge of their duties as the chief security officers of their Local Government, “I task you as the council boss of your various Local Government to be prudent managers of task-payers money”.
The Governor said the inauguration of the elected chairman marks a full democratic process in Nasarawa state, He commended the people of Nasarawa state for the doggedness, resilience and peaceful conduct and outing during the last Saturday 22/03/2014 Local Governments election.
The newly sworn-in chairmen of the 10 Local Governments are
1. Awe L.G -Yusuf Aliyu Turaki APC
2. Doma L.G Henry Omaku-APC
3. Kokona L.G Musa Namo-PDP
4. Keana L.G Haruna Osegba –PDP
5. Keffi L.G Ahmed Mohammed-PDP
6. Karu L.G Chindo Godwin–APC
7. Lafia L.G Suleiman Wambai-APC
8. Nasarawa Eggon L.G Akolo Ahmed-PDP
9. Toto L.G Mohammed Musa-APC
10. Wamba L.G Musa Shuaibu Wayo—APC
The Chairman of the  Nasarawa State Independent Electoral Commission,Dr.Sallau Moddibo while affirming the outcome of the Local Government election in the state on Sunday evening declared that APC won 6 Local Governments ,PDP won 4 while the results of the remaining three Local Governments of which include Akwanga, Nasarawa and Obi Local Governments are inconclusive, he maintained that results of four wards in Akwanga,6 wards in Nasarawa and 2 wards in Obi  are yet to be available as at the time of  the affirmation.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: