Delta: Okowa Warns Commissioners Against Tribal, Regional Politics

1 12
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • As He Swears in 13 New Commissioners

12002855_942694785809194_5098484016493426152_nDelta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, Tuesday, said that by accepting to work with his administration, Commissioners, Special Advisers and all political nominees are bound to adhere to the principles and policies of his government, just as he warned against playing tribal and regional politics in the execution of government programmes.

Okowa said his administration, which came on board May 29, had no place for ethnic politics, saying every political appointee is to serve the entire state, relegating to the background their area of origin so as to fulfill the purpose of the new administration as encapsulated in the campaign promises to all Deltans.

Governor Okowa gave the charge during the swearing of 13 additional Commissioners to the state executive council, making a total of 21 commissioners so far appointed by the state governor since inception of the new administration.

Subscribe to our newsletter

He said “shun nepotism, tribalism in carrying out your duties as government officials. You are to ensure you serve the entire state, not your community, having come into government. Every Deltan should be given opportunity in the administration of your ministry, department or agency. Deltans voted for us because they believe in our administration”.

He said the appointees were carefully selected to fit into the system, hence they should channel their experiences into attacking the challenges confronting the economy, with all resourcefulness and employ their creative potentials to transform the state.

He advise the Commissioners to manage the state resources and have the mentality of solving problems with strict adherence to the principles of government business, noting that every agency should be alive to revenue generation so as to boost the revenue base of the state.

He called on the Commissioners to be prepared to work with diligence while paying attention to reforms which are capable of growing the economy to an enviable height.

He maintained that his government is committed to creating opportunity for micro business, adding that his administration had put aside all challenges and was ready to forge ahead to achieve the goals and objectives of his government.

The new Commissioners who were assigned portfolios at the Event Centre include Barr. Peter Mrakpor (Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice); Dr Nicholas Azinge (Commissioner for Health); Barr. Ernest Ogwezzy (Commissioner for Culture and Tourism); Hon. Henry Sakpra (Commissioner for Special Duties, Government  House); Mr. Mofe Pirah (Commissioner for Oil and Gas); Hon. Bright Edejeghro (Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs );  Hon. Asupa Forteta (Commissioner for Youth Development) and Chief Dan Okenyi (Commissioner for Lands and Survey).

Other are Hon. Chika Ossai (Commissioner for Lands and Urban Development); Mr. Oghenekaro Ilolo (Commissioner for Urban Renewal); Olorogun David Edevbie (Commissioner for Finance); Engr. Jude Sinebe (Commissioner for Higher Education); and Mr. Patrick Ukah (Commissioner for Information); while the Special Advisers that were sworn-in are Hon, John Ozegbe, Rt. Hon. Sam Obi, Hon Bosin Ebikeme and Mr. George Orogun as Economic Adviser to the Governor.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: