Super Falcons Return To Camp For Gambia Thursday

0 96

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Tuesday said the Super Falcons would return to camp on Thursday for preparations for a 2018 Women Africa Cup of Nations qualifying fixture.


The federation, in a statement in Abuja by its Director of Communications, Ademola Olajire, said the senior women national team’s qualifying fixture is against Gambia.


“Head coach Thomas Dennerby has called up 26 players, including overseas-based defender Ngozi Ebere, and they are to resume camp in Abuja on Thursday,’’ it said.


The  first phase of the team’s camping will take place between May 10 and May 15.


The second phase will hold between May 17 and May 22, while the third phase is set for between May 24 and June 1.


NFF disclosed further that only players selected for the trip to Banjul would take part in the fourth phase of camping scheduled for June 2 to June 12.


The two-leg fixture will take place between June 4 and June 12 with the Gambians hosting the opening leg in Banjul.


The federation has chosen June 11 to host the second leg in Nigeria.


Victory over two legs against the Gambians, who eliminated Burkina Faso in the preliminary round, will earn eight-time champions Nigeria to the 11th Women Africa Cup of Nations finals.


The continental competition will hold in Ghana later this year.




Goalkeepers: Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Chioma Nwankwo (Nasarawa Amazons)


Defenders: Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC Women, Cyprus); Emmanuella Ingenue (Pelican Stars); Rebecca Ajiga (Edo Queens); Gineka Ikeh (Bayelsa Queens); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons)


Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Maureen Okpalla (Confluence Queens)


Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Osas Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens)


Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens); Orjiugo Godson (Abia Angels); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars)


Forwards: Chinaza Uchendu (Rivers Angels); Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens); Tessy Biahwo (Bayelsa Queens); Ijeoma Obi (Bayelsa Queens)


Zainab Olapade (Jokodolu Babes); Glory Oshaghe (Confluence Queens); Nneka Julius (Edo Queens)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: