South-East, South-South Governors Endorses Jonathan

0 2
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Governors Amaechi, Okorocha, Oshiomhole Absent

Subscribe to our newsletter
A one-day meeting of governors of Southeast and South-South geo-political zones has ended in Enugu with a renewed support for President Goodluck Jonathan even as the governors of Edo, Imo and Rivers states shunned the gathering.
It was observed at Government House, Enugu, Enugu State venue of the meeting that Governors Adams Oshiomhole (Edo) Rochas Okorocha (Imo) and Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers) were conspicuously absent at the meeting of the two zones which lasted for over three hours.

Governor Peter Obi of Anambra State and Chairman of Southeast Governors’ Forum who spoke on behalf of his colleagues, but declined to entertain questions from reporters did not give reasons for the absence of the three governors who many believe are tilting towards the formation of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
However, it was gathered that the crisis engulfing the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) might not be unconnected with the staying away of the three governors from the Enugu meeting.
Briefing newsmen at the end of the meeting, Governor  Obi said the meeting was to discuss ways of collaboration between the two zones.
“We met today in Enugu and discussed how the two zones will work together economically in the area of infrastructure.
“Akwa Ibom and Abia States have reached an understanding to work with private sector to reconstruct and dualize the bad Ikot-Ekpene-Aba Road in order to improve economic activities within the corridor of both states.
“We also discussed the issue of oil theft and how to curb the theft. We discussed issue of ethnic harmony between the zones and how to promote it.
“Finally, we commend the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, for the various programmes as shown in the mid-term report clearly shows that the transformation agenda is on course and we pledge to continue supporting him,” he said.
Other governors at the meeting include the host, Sullivan Chime of Enugu State, Theodore Orji of Abia State, Martin Elechi of Ebonyi State, Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta State, Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, Liyel Imoke of Cross River State and Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State.

Source: Tribune 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: