PDP CRISIS: 26 Senators Back Baraje-Led Faction

0 32
Subscribe to our newsletter
TWENTY-six serving Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria yesterday hailed former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, six northern governors who stormed out of the venue of Saturday’s Special National convention of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and Governor Chibuike Amaechi of Rivers state for the formation of a parallel executive of the party with Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje as national chairman, Dr. Sam Sam Jaja as Deputy National Chairman and Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola as National Secretary.

Subscribe to our newsletter
The senators in a statement yesterday said that , “By this decision that no doubt provides a soothing balm that will calm frail nerves in the party,  you have written your names in gold and will be remembered in our political history as men that stood to save the party and Nigeria’s democracy.
“We heartily rejoice with our patriots and eminent Nigerians led by former Vice President Atiku Abubakar  GCON, and the Governors of Kano State, Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Aliyu Wammako, (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Sule Lamido (Jigawa), Muazu Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Abdul Fattah Ahmed (Kwara), and Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers), for the bold, swift and courageous step to reposition the People’s Democratic  Party under a new leadership.
“We congratulate the new chairman, Alhaji  Abdulahi  Kawu Baraje,  the Deputy Chairman, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, National secretary, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinola and other members of the National Executive Committee for their emergence as leaders of our great  party.
“We therefore, pledge our unfettered loyalty to the Barage-led PDP National Executive.”
The senators are the Senate Chief Whip, Senator, Bello Hayatu Gwarzo, Kano North;  Sen  Mohammed Ali Ndume, Borno South;  Sen. Ahmad Zannah, Borno Central;   Sen  Abdulahi Adamu, Nasarawa West; Sen  Abdulahi  Danladi Sankara, Jigawa North-West; Sen.  Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North East; Sen   Abdulmumini Mohammed Hassan,Jigawa South-West;  Sen   Umaru  Dahiru, Sokoto South; Sen   Ahmed Mohammed Maccido, Sokoto North; Sen  Muhammad Shaaba Lafiaji, Kwara North;   Sen   Simeon Sule Ajibola, Kwara South;  Sen  Abubakar Bukola Saraki, Kwara Central; Sen  Magnus Ngei Abe, Rivers South-East;  Sen Wilson Asinobi Ake, Rivers West;  Sen  Danjuma Mohammed Goje, Gombe Central;   Sen Saidu Ahmed Alkali, Gombe North;  Sen Ahmed Hassan Barata, Adamawa South; Sen   Bindowo Umar Mohammed Bindiwo Jibrilla, Adamawa North; Sen   Aisha Jummai Alhassan, Taraba North; Sen.  Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir, Sokoto East ; Sen.  Bashir Garba Mohammad, Kano Central; Sen.  Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North-East and  Sen.  Isa Galaudu, Kebbi North.
It was also gathered that Senators Dahiru Kuta, Niger East and Zainab Kure, Niger South have thrown their weights behind the Baraje-led PDP in support of their governor, Aliyu Babangida

Source: Vanguard

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: