Nasarawa State Is Broke: As Al-Makura Constitute 23 Member Committee For The Downward Review Of Workers’ Salary

0 56


Rabiu Omaku

Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura has faulted the then committee for the implementation of new minimum wage set up in the advent of his administration.

The Governor stated this during the inauguration of a committee on the downward review of salaries of workers and political appointees in the state, the Governor said the measure was meant not to inflict hardship to the people of the state.

Appealing to the people of the state to remain calm, Al-Makura averred that the state was plunged in financial crisis following the dwindling economy due to fall in oil price.

“The responsibility of Government is on the entire citizenry not the workers alone, adding that only one percent of the population is of the working class”.

The state Governor confided that the insolvency of the state potent great peril to the security situation of the state, saying the Government of the state remain vulnerable.

The committee is to submit its report in one week with term of reference as follows

1.The committee is to ascertain the revenue accrued to state and Local Government in the state.

2.That the committee should study the national minimum wage law

3.Should study the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) salary package of 2009 and remuneration of political office holders

4.The committee to take a comparative analysis of the minimum wage

5.submit its report within one week

The Governor the committee member to be duty bound by obeying the new minimum wage law which he said is sacrosanct.

“We don’t know when good times will come”. Yusuf Shehu-Commissioner of Justice- chairman in his speech after their inauguration commended the Governor for finding him worthy to walk alongside with people of impecable credential”.

He gave the assurance that the committee would meet up to the time frame stipulated for them, the members of the committee are as followed.

1.Yusuf Shehu-Commissioner of Justice- chairman

2.Aliyu Tijjani member

3.Musa Dangana

4.Anthony Sani member

5.Jonah Ogbole

6.Silas Dacho-former p.s

7.Kalid Musa

8.Muhammed Musa Dadda’u

9.Comrade Abdullahi Adeka-NLC chairman member

10.Danladi Namo TUC

11.Muhammed Umar sec Tuc

12.Comrade Sule Usman

13.Ishaku Abari-Secretary

14.Tim Yiga- commissioner Information ——Member

15.Anthony Sani member

16.Muhammed Musa Dadda’u

17.Danladi Namo TUC

18.Muhammed Umar sec Tuc and others.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: