Jigawa To Declare Five LGAs Free Open Defecation Soon  

0 32
Subscribe to our newsletter

Umar Akilu Majeri

The Jigawa state government has declared six local government areas out of the 27 local government areas in the state free from open defecation.

This was disclosed by the Managing Director Jigawa State Rural Water and Sanitation Agency, Engr  Labaran Adamu MNSE on Friday in an interview with newsmen in his office.

Alhaji Labaran further explained that five local governments were also selected that will be declared free from open defecation soon.

Subscribe to our newsletter

The five selected local governments include Dutse, Sule Tankarkar, Kafin Hausa, Auto, And Birniwa Local Government areas.

Explaining further he said in the area of hygiene the federal government and DFID have clearly explained that the Jigawa state is among the best in the country in fighting the issue of open defecation.

He commended the effort of the STGS committee who testified that six local governments are free from open defecation in the state in which Buji local Government and Yankwashi, Roni was among the six councils.

Others include Birnin Kudu Kaugama and Taura local government areas.

Labaran commended the efforts of traditional rulers whom he said without their support and cooperation the feat couldn’t have been achieved.

He urged the general public in the state to support the state government to achieve the target objective.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: