Outgoing Nasarawa State Chairman Of NIPR Raises Alarm Over Unethical Practice

0 8

Rabiu Omaku

The outgoing Chairman of Nigeria Institute of Public Relations, Nasarawa State Chapter, Comrade Muktar Wakeel has called on the new leadership of the Institute to take note of fake news trending on the social media.


Wakeel expressed displeasure over the friction between social media and conventional newspapers.


He said social media potent great peril to media practitioner who is in the field hunting for reliable news items


Saying something must be done to rescue the Institute of Public Relations Practice, however, said NIPR is aware of fake news taking over the center stage


He, in addition, averred that the trending of fake news is diversionary especially with the appointment of all sorts of persons as media aides to politicians.


“If anybody wants to join the professor, he should go to school, what I’m saying, in essence, is advising people that want to be like us to learn the art of the practice by acquiring at least a Diploma in Mass Communication”.


Muktar Wakeel disclosed this during the inauguration of the new executive of the Nigeria Institute of Public Relations, an occasion held at the state Ministry of Information, Culture, and Tourism.


The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism, Bar Yusuf Musa appreciate the members of the Institute for their courage


Describing Public Relations Officers without a certificate knowledge as a time bomb.


Urging NIPR to stand firm by ensuring that only those with prerequisite certificate heads key positions in the country


Dr.Comfort Ojiwela of the Federal University of Lafia described NIPR as a prestigious profession


Adding that the Nigeria Institute of Public Relations is not a piece of bread, She further called on practitioners to close ranks by building a solid fortress.


Hon Zakari Kigbu appealed to the Institute to do the  needful, saying by so doing would revive the Institute


The new executives inaugurated are

1.Safiya Ahmed Mohammed as Chairman

2.Enock Ali Maku- Secretary

3.Ibrahim Onawo member

4 Aselema Adako Auta

5.Ladi Dangara

6.Abubakar Ogashuwa

7.Hadiza Dahiru

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: