Nasarawa Assembly House Committee on Finance Laments Inadequate Funding, Lack of Adherence To Budgetary Provision

0 0
Subscribe to our newsletter

Rabiu Omaku

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly on Finance and Appropriation has faulted Ministries, Departments and Parastatals for lack of adherence to budgetary provision, the chairman of the committee, Hon.Amos Agyas (APC) hinted this while presenting the report of committee at the red chamber.

The chairman also frown on inadequate budget to ministries, Departments and Agencies, Hon.Agyas in his report described the autonomy enjoined by the four tertiary institutions as partial autonomy accorded to the Nasarawa State University, Keffi, College of Education, Akwanga, College of Agriculture, Lafia and the Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia.

The House committee on finance and Appropriation also lament deficiency in the release of fund by the state government in 2016 budget, calling on the state governor to fast track the implementation of the Treasury Single Account.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Hon.Amos Agyas also called on the state governor to look for means to improve on the Internally Generated Revenue of the state, adding that the implementation of the TSA in the state would close leakages.

“The fast tracking of TSA would enable state government generate IGR to the state”. The committee on finance and Appropriation applauded the state governor, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura for the execution of projects in the area of provision of potable drinking water.

“The governor deserved a pass mark in the area of road construction, improvement in health care services and the accreditation of courses in tertiary institutions of learning”.

Hon.Agyas rated 2016 budget as superb taking cognisance the poor federal allocation and lean Internally Generated Revenue,adding that the 2016 budget  of 62.3 percent well commendable.

“The 2016 budget size was N79,301,850,598.00,stating that only N49,430,356,93.61 was realized from the federation account, in a related development, the Nasarawa State House of Assembly has screened three commissionership nominees.

The nominees screened are Professor Jonathan Ayuba from Akwanga Local government, Muhammed Jameel Zakari from Awe local government and Abdullahi Tanko Zubairu from Doma local government respectively.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: