New PDP Merges With APC

0 0
Subscribe to our newsletter
The breakaway faction of the Peoples Democratic Party, known as the new PDP today in Abuja merged with the All Progressives Congress, the announcement of the merger was done at the end of a meeting with the Baraje breakaway faction of the PDP at the Kano Governors Lodge in Abuja .
The communiqué of the meeting between the APC and the New PDP was read journalists, by Mr. Baraje , with this it now means that the APC a total of 18 state governors.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Those who were in attendance at the merger meeting were APC leader and former Lagos State governor, Bola Tinubu; APC National Chairman, Bisi Akande; Kano State Governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso: former Kwara governor and serving senator, Bukola Saraki; former Nasarawa governor and serving senator, Abdullahi Adamu; former Bayelsa governor, Timipre Sylva; and Adamawa State Governor, Murtala Nyako.
Others were former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Masari; Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi; National Secretary of the PDP, Olagunsoye Oyinlola; former Abia governor, Ogbonnaya Onu; former PDP vice chairman, Sam Jaja; Kwara State Governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed; and Niger State Governor, Babangida Aliyu.
However while reading the communiqué Mr. Baraje said governor Ahmed and governor Aliyu left the meeting before it ended; but that everybody agreed the two groups should merge.
According to Baraje; the two parties agreed “to work together in order to rescue the fledgling democracy of the nation.”
The communique reads thus; “A meeting of the leadership of All Progressives Congress, APC, and the new PDP met this morning at the residence of the Kano State Governor, Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, in Abuja.
“After exhaustive deliberations the two parties agreed to merge in order to rescue our fledgling democracy and the nation.”
The communiqué was  signed by Bisi Akande and Kawu Abubakar Baraje.

As it stand now, the ruling PDP now has 16 governors.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: